Share  Email  Print  [-] [+]

Annual Review

HKVCA Chairman’s Report 2015-2016

 

Dear Members and Friends,

As your Chairman it is my duty but at the same time my sincerest privilege to provide this annual report detailing the amazing work undertaken by the Hong Kong Venture Capital and Private Equity Association (HKVCA) over the course of this past year.

It has been my sincere privilege to work with the dedicated staff and members of the Association, trying our best to ensure the HKVCA is the most effective and productive it can be.

 

Membership

Although this year was marked by a high degree of volatility and uncertainty, our industry continues to thrive. Despite the ongoing global economic slowdown, the markets were surprisingly resilient. It was a strong year for our organization as well. I am extremely pleased to be able to report that the HKVCA, continuing to build on its hard work of the past several years, showed robust growth both in terms of membership numbers as well as the success and scale of our events.

During the last year, we have grown our membership to more than 350 professional firms, representing practitioners across the full spectrum of private capital markets. Our member firms are highly accomplished and diverse, hailing from Hong Kong, Greater China, the Asia-Pacific region and other parts of the globe, including Europe and North America. We also have member firms from the frontier markets, including Russia.

The global, regional and local character of our member firms is a reflection of Hong Kong’s unique status within China. Hong Kong is not merely a regional hub, but is a recognized global center for business and finance.

In the coming years, the Association will continue to focus on the growth of its membership base. The HKVCA will continue to reach out to all sectors of the private equity and venture capital profession, solidifying our position as the unique umbrella organization best able to serve the interests and further the aspirations of our diverse and vital industry.  

 

Major Events

As part of our mission to help lead the growth and development within our industry, and as part of our ongoing commitment to our members, the HKVCA organizes a very full and active calendar of events. These events range from high profile international conferences and industry-relevant lectures, to formal training programs and social events.

The 6th Asia Private Equity Forum (APEF), one of our three flagship events, was held in January 2016 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The Forum examined the many challenges and opportunities that exist for value creation within the industry. It brought together an experienced group of private equity and venture capital practitioners with the aim of identifying the latest trends and the latest challenges facing private capital markets, across all stages and geographies in Asia. Some of the areas covered included private equity real estate, private debt and a robust attention to environmental, social and governance standards.

The third annual Hong Kong Venture Capital Forum (HKVCF), the second of our flagship events, was held in March this year and proved once again to be a tremendous success, with more than 200 industry professionals attending. This year’s event featured leading regional venture capitalists coming together to discuss the evolving venture environment, including the latest technological developments related to blockchain, healthcare and robotics. The feedback received by the HKVCA, from both attendee participants and the speakers, served to highlight the enormous popularity of this relatively new event, especially in terms of the quality of the discussions held on emerging technologies and the high levels of expertise exhibited by the panelists.

This year also marked the fifteenth year we have held the China Private Equity Summit (CPES), a leading global event focused on the dynamic and increasingly vital role the private equity industry plays in China. Held in May at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, CPES 2016, our third flagship event, attracted more than 500 venture capital and private equity practitioners, leading corporations, and other industry professionals and participants from across the globe. In addition to discussing the existing investment environment in China, there was also in-depth analysis of the opportunities and challenges investors face in terms of financial market reform and liberalization of cross-border transactions; the growth in Chinese overseas investment; and the current regulatory and taxation environment. The HKVCA was extremely proud of the success of this event and are confident of its continued popularity in the years to come. 

 

Education

The HKVCA is highly committed to providing truly value added educational opportunities to our members. The Private Equity Fundamentals Course is an important part of our commitment to the professionalism of our industry. Held annually, it is a comprehensive training course designed primarily for those wishing to enhance their knowledge of the core fundamentals of private equity and venture capital. In 2015 we were especially pleased to have the support of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, Hong Kong University’s MBA program, as well as the MBA program at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

One of the major highlights of the year among popular educational luncheon talks was a very special dinner with the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal of Hong Kong on the evening of Monday, 18 April. Attendees were privileged to hear the Honorable Geoffrey Ma Tao-li deliver an important and thought-provoking speech on the fundamental principles that underlie both the rule of law and Hong Kong’s Basic Law.

Of course HKVCA members and supporters know how to have fun too and I am pleased to report that we held a number of very popular social events as well such as our annual Gala Dinner and annual Golf Day together with the series of wine tasting evenings, all proved to be especially popular and were consistently oversubscribed.

In the interest of brevity, I have mentioned only a few of the many events the HKVCA has held over the course of the year covered by this report. Going forward, the Association will continue to represent the economic interests of our member firms through promoting and providing our members with extensive opportunities for networking and the sharing of experiences and information.

 

Development of the Profession

The HKVCA is committed to continuing to build and grow based on our fundamental principles and the significant progress the Association has made in the last few years. With a membership of over 350 firms, the HKVCA is dedicated to expanding the diversity of our member base, in Hong Kong and across the Asia Pacific region.

As socially responsible investing criteria becomes more and more important in our industry, the HKVCA established this year a new Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) Committee that will help raise awareness of ESG and bring together the interests of investors and managers to the degree to which ESG issues are being implemented. The Association also established a new Family Office Committee in order to encourage greater involvement by family offices and to provide them with a unique channel of participation in the private equity and venture capital industry.

As the key professional organization representing the venture capital and private equity industry in Hong Kong, we will continue to work hard promoting and strengthening the venture ecosystem by working in collaboration with government and other global venture bodies; and by ensuring a broad spectrum of expertise and a diversity of discussion on behalf of the venture community.

Ultimately, it is our members that are the lifeline of the HKVCA, and hence it is vital that our organization meet the industry’s needs. The Association therefore provides an immensely valuable platform for lobbying government on behalf of the industry in order to protect the interests of the private equity and venture capital community and positively impact the region’s regulatory and business environment. The Inland Revenue Department (IRD) recently released its Departmental Interpretation and Practice Note (DIPN) 51 and revised DIPN 43 which provide the IRD’s interpretation of the legislation enacted in July 2015 extending tax exemption to offshore private equity funds. The IRD’s position has created tremendous uncertainty where the HKVCA has a strong feeling that the new law would be unworkable for most private equity firms. We intend to be the voice for our industry and express our considerable concern to the government through continue lobbying the government via multiple channels and exploring the possibility of collaboration with other professional associations to provide a unified message on the stalled reforms affecting the fund management sector in Hong Kong.

 

Committees, Board and Staff

I have mentioned only a very few highlights of the HKVCA’s many activities over the course of the year. There are, of course, many members and committees that have also been very active and their work is deservedly highlighted elsewhere in this annual report.

I must also acknowledge and express my appreciation for the many members and industry partners who have collaborated and worked closely with us to make this year such a success. Our outstanding Board of Directors have given much of their time and their energy toward making the Association the invaluable asset it has become to its members, and for that I am truly grateful.

Of course no discussion about our achievements over the year would be possible without Joanne, our Secretary General, and the amazing team who have energized, organized and revitalized the Association. We could not have achieved what we have without their dedication, hard work and commitment.

It has been a great honor and awesome privilege to serve as Chairman of the HKVCA. I sincerely hope that our members are as pleased and proud of how our Association has grown and developed in such a short period of time. Today we are bigger, better and more influential than we have ever been. I look forward to all of us working together to help make the HKVCA the leading regional professional association for our industry. I look forward to continuing to work with you in the year ahead.

 

Eric Mason

Chairman

Hong Kong Venture Capital and Private Equity Association

Share  Email  Print  [-] [+]

年度回顾

主席报告 - 年度回顾 (2015-2016)

 

尊敬的会员、亲爱的朋友:

作为香港创业及私募投资协会的主席,能为您呈上这份年报,详述本会在过去一年中完成的各项出色工作,是我的职责,亦是我莫大的荣幸。

能够与我们优秀的员工及各位会员共事是我的荣幸。我们一同竭力,让香港创业及私募投资协会的有效性及高效性发挥到极致。

 

会籍

虽然今年被普遍认为是高度动荡及不安的一年,但我们的行业依旧蓬勃发展。尽管当前全球经济持续放缓,行业市场却展现出惊人的弹性。本协会今年亦保持着强劲的势头。我很高兴地告诉大家,有了我们在过去数年间打下的坚实基础,香港创业及私募投资协会无论在会员数目或是活动规模及成就上,皆呈现出强势增长。

在过去的一年中,我们的会员总数已超过350,这些专业公司含盖了私募投资市场中方方面面的从业者。他们高度多样化,来自香港、大中华区、亚太区、以及世界其他地区,包括欧洲和北美。我们亦有部分会员来自于包括俄罗斯在内的前沿市场。

我们会员公司同时兼具全球性、地区性及本土性的特点。这些特点也正反映出香港在中国境内独一无二的地位。香港不仅仅是一个地区性的枢纽,更是公认的全球商业与金融中心。

在未来的几年里,本协会将继续专注于扩大会员群体。我们亦会继续接触创业及私募投资行业的所有部门,巩固我们独一无二伞状组织的地位,以便我们能够以最好的方式服务于行业利益,并进一步推动这个丰富多样且充满活力的行业的远期志向。

 

重要活动

帮助业内成长发展是我们长久以来的宗旨,也是我们对会员的一贯承诺,因此,本协会组织了一系列丰富全面的活动。这些活动不仅包括业界瞩目的国际峰会和行业相关讲座,也涵盖正规培训课程及社交活动。

第六届亚洲私募投资论坛(APEF)于2016年1月在香港会展中心举行。作为本协会三大旗舰活动之一,本次论坛审视了行业内现存的价值创造方面的挑战与机遇。论坛汇聚了一批经验丰富的私募股权和创业投资从业人员,旨在探讨横跨亚洲各地区、各阶段的私募股权市场的最新趋势及所面临的最新挑战。部分议题涉及私募股权地产、私人债务,以及关注度日渐升温的环境、社会及管治标准问题。

作为本年度第二场旗舰活动的第三届香港创业投资论坛(HKVCF)于今年3月召开。该论坛吸引超过200位业内专家参与,又一次取得巨大成功。今年的论坛邀请到区域领先的创业投资者齐聚一堂,共同探讨不停演变的创业投资环境,涉及到和区块链、医疗保健以及机器人学领域等相关的最新技术发展。我们收到来自演讲嘉宾和与会者的大量好评,尤其是对新兴技术的高质量探讨及演讲嘉宾表现出的高精专业知识。这一切皆表明,本论坛虽然相对年轻,但已拥有极高的人气。

今年也是我们举办中国私募投资高峰会(CPES)的第十五个年头。作为一个全球领先的峰会,中国私募投资高峰会专注于私募股权投资行业在中国扮演的多元角色及其日益增加的重要性。2016年度中国私募投资高峰会于5月在香港会展中心举办。作为本协会的第三场年度盛会,本峰会共吸引500多名来自世界各地的私募与创业投资行业从业者,领先企业,以及其他行业的专业人士和从业人员。本次峰会除对当前中国的投资环境进行探讨之外,也对投资者们在金融市场改革与跨境交易自由化、中国海外投资的增长、及当前的监管和税收环境等方面所面临的机遇与挑战进行了深入分析。我们为本次峰会所取得的巨大成功深感自豪。我们相信,在今后的岁月里,中国私募投资高峰会的影响力必将与日俱增。

 

教育培训

香港创业及私募投资协会一向致力于为会员提供货真价实的增值教育机会。私募投资基础课程便是我们兑现提高全行业专业水平诺言的一项重要举措。该综合培训课程每年举办一次,专为有意增进自身私募股权与创业投资核心基础知识的人士所设计。2015年,我们更有幸获得了香港交易及结算所(港交所)、香港大学及香港科技大学MBA课程的大力支持。

今年本协会举办的一系列教学午宴讲座依旧饱受追捧。其中最大的亮点,乃于4月18(星期一)晚间与香港终审法院首席法官共进的特别晚宴。所有来宾皆有幸倾听马道立首席法官就“依法治国”与香港基本法背后的基本原则所发表的极其重要且发人深省的演说。

当然,我们的会员与支持者一向懂得如何在忙中作乐。我也很高兴地告诉大家,在过去的这一年里,我们举办了一系列广受欢迎的社交活动,如年度庆祝晚宴、年度高尔夫球日、以及数次品酒会等,皆极具人气,一票难求。

因篇幅所限,本协会在过去一年中举办的大量活动,仅有很小的一部分在本年报中有所提及。从今往后,我们将会继续以会员公司的经济利益为出发,推广并为广大会员提供丰富的人际交流、经验与信息交换的机会。

 

行业发展

本协会将以我们的基本原则以及在过去数年间取得的巨大进步为基础,全力以赴,继续为自己添砖加瓦,令自己快速成长。我们已有超过350个公司会员,会继续致力于在香港及亚太地区扩大我们会员群体的多样性。

鉴于社会责任型投资标准在业内的重要性与日俱增,本协会于今年成立了全新的环境、社会、管治政策(ESG)委员会,旨在提高行业的ESG意识,并根据ESG事项的落实程度,将投资者与管理者的利益集中。本协会亦新成立了家族办公室委员会,借以鼓励家族办公室更积极参与协会活动,并为他们投身创业及私募投资行业提供一个独特渠道。

身为代表香港创业与私募投资行业最主要的专业机构,我们将与政府及其他的全球创投机构合作,在确保全方位的专业知识和代表创投界进行多元化探讨的前提下,继续努力促进和加强创业生态系统。

归根结底,广大会员才是本协会的命脉,所以,满足业界需求对我们来说至关重要。为此,我们提供一个极为宝贵的平台,代表行业与政府沟通,以求保护创业与私募投资界的利益,并为区域内的监管与商业环境带来积极影响。香港税务局最近发布了《税务条例释义及执行指引(DIPN)第51号》并对DIPN第43号做出了修订,阐述了其对2015年7月颁布的那条将离岸基金利得税豁免延伸至私募基金的法律的理解。税务局的立场产生了巨大的不确定性,这也使得本协会深感新法律对绝大多数私募股权公司而言难以适用。我们有意成为业界的发言人,通过多重渠道持续与政府沟通,向其传达我们对此的强烈关注,并通过发掘与其他专业协会合作的可能性,就这场影响香港基金管理行业并已陷入僵局的改革提供统一的消息。

 

委员会、董事局及秘书处

我于前文所提及的,仅仅是本协会在过去的一年中举办的所有活动中很小的一部分。我们亦有许许多多表现踊跃的会员和委员会。他们的出色工作将在本年报的其他部分着重阐述。

我还要向诸位会员以及业界合作伙伴致以诚挚谢意。有了他们与我们的紧密合作,今年才能够如此成功。我们杰出的董事局成员也付出了大量的时间和精力,令本协会得以成为广大会员的宝贵财富,对此,我深表感谢。

当然,如若没有阮丽萍秘书长和她那了不起的团队一直激励、调整、振兴我们的协会,我们在过去一年取得的成绩将只能是空想。他们的勤劳、敬业与担当,让我们能够走到今天这一步。

能够担任香港创业及私募投资协会主席,是我巨大的荣幸。我真诚地希望诸位会员也能与我一样,为本协会在这么短的时间内发展壮大感到高兴与自豪。今天,我们比以往任何时候都更强大、更优秀、更具影响力。我期待和大家一道努力,让香港创业及私募投资协会成为本行业内领先的区域性专业组织。在接下来的一年里,我期盼与大家继续共事。

 

香港创业及私募投资协会

主席

马恩瑞